Trip to the LIBRARY!

We have this great thing in Boise called the Library!…. please note the name is actually LIBRARY! it is in fact as far as I know the only city or state building in the country where an exclamation point is part of the actual name… I love that.

One of my favorite parts of the Library! is that I can buy old magazines for $.10, and used library paperback and children’s books for $.25 and hardbound books for $.50 in a place called “under the stairs” (they have a huge flight of stairs just inside the front door.) They also have a real bookstore where they sell newer donated books that have never been on the shelves and newer magazines for a little more (between $1 and $3 for magazines and $1 and $8 for books) I also saw some old vintage magazines that i will check out next time I am there.
I was on my way to the Goth Coffee and Game meet up I host on Thursdays at a local downtown coffee place (I also host a Wednesday Alternative Artist/Crafters meet-up there as well.. it is a blast since I would probably be there anyway) so i didn’t have long to shop but I did grab 11 cheap $.10 magazines, one $.50 hardback book to use for an altered book and a $1.50 newer paperback that looked good. I also found a 2002 copy of Sommerset Studio ($.10) but I am afraid I left it at the coffee shop, I will call in the morning to find out.
One thing they have in Dawson’s coffee shop is a very large wooden dinner table that seats 8 easily and 10 with some effort and is great for art… I carry a couple large sheets of plasticized Freezer/deli paper in my Art Supply bag to cover the table if I do anything wet but the staff there is very mellow about us doing art there. I did some more pages in my WLS Art Journal I am making and had fun watching my friends play Apples to Apples.
I plan to hit the LIBRARY! again next week or so and take a better look at what they have for sale and hope to find my Sommerset Studio magazine tomorrow.

NOTE:: found my magazine in the Bag of Games I take to coffee each week

One response to “Trip to the LIBRARY!

  1. I love the exclamation, and I wish every library was so emphatic and enthusiastic! We do have some great buys on used and discarded books at our library, in fact, there’s a 10¢ room with tons of wonderful discards. But we do not have and exclamation point, and we should! Great post. Thanks for sharing this. It’s been years since I’ve been to Boise, but I love it there!

Leave a Reply

